Mercedes Enter 2015 Season With Renewed Vigour

All set for the 2015 DTM season – the eight Mercedes-Benz works drivers are ready for the fresh challenge. Six of them contested the DTM last season for the brand with the three-pointed star, while Lucas Auer and Maximilian Götz are new to the team.

Both newcomers are firmly established in the world of motor racing with Mercedes‑Benz. During the past two years, 20-year-old Austrian Lucas Auer has successfully lined up for Prema Powerteam and Mücke Motorsport in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship, utilising Mercedes power. He placed second in the 2014 Macau Grand Prix at the legendary Guia street circuit.

28-year-old Maximilian Götz is the perfect example of a driver successfully making the move up from Mercedes-AMG’s Customer Sport Programme to the DTM. He has driven a SLS AMG GT3 for the past four years. He joins the DTM this year as reigning Blancpain Sprint Series champion.

In all, there are two DTM champions and five DTM race winners in the Mercedes-Benz team of drivers. Apart from 2005 DTM champion Gary Paffett and Paul Di Resta, who won in 2010, these are Robert Wickens, Christian Vietoris and Pascal Wehrlein. Mercedes junior Wehrlein is the youngest winner of a race in the history of the series after his victory at the Lausitzring in 2014. Daniel Juncadella, who will be contesting his third DTM season in 2015, completes the line-up. The Spaniard acted as a Formula 1 test driver at Force India-Mercedes last season and was reigning champion in both the Formula 3 Euro Series and in the FIA Formula 3 European Championship when he made the switch to the DTM in 2013.

The eight Mercedes-AMG C63 DTMs will be fielded by Mercedes-Benz DTM development partner HWA AG, by Berlin-based team Mücke Motorsport and by French newcomers to the DTM, ART Grand Prix. Gary Paffett has opted to tackle a fresh challenge at ART Grand Prix this coming season. Using experience gained in the course of eleven DTM seasons to date, the British driver will lead the new entrants to the DTM, as they build their team and get to know the vehicle.

ART Grand Prix: Gary Paffett, Lucas Auer
HWA AG: Paul Di Resta, Robert Wickens
HWA AG: Christian Vietoris, Pascal Wehrlein
Mücke Motorsport: Daniel Juncadella, Maximilian Götz


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s